Dwelling fractions for Argentina

Argentina is divided into 23 provinces plus the autonomy city of Buenos Aires (the country's capital) and 32 districts. An exposure model has been developed in terms of the number of buildings as well as economic value (replacement cost of the structures, excluding contents and non-structural components) at department, province and district level.

Although the most recent census was conducted in 2010, the 2001 census data was utilised in the development of the exposure model, since the former does not include information regarding the predominant material of the exterior walls (this attribute has been found to be the most representative when defining the seismic response of the building). However the total number of dwellings was updated using the 2010 data.

Information about building characteristics was based on data from census 2001, INDEC (Instituto Nacional de Estadística y Censos, Argentina).

Reference information for common materials and building types in the country

In order to improve the understanding of the typical and common building types in the region, the results coming from PAGER and UN-HABITAT and the housing reports coming from the World Housing Encyclopedia (WHE) are summarized in the following figures.

A summary of information provided in the census 2010 at national level is presented in the following pie charts. These results show dwelling fractions according to the predominant exterior wall material (“material de paredes exteriores”), floor material (“material del piso”), dwelling type (“tipo de vivienda”) and type of area (“tipo de area”); and also pie charts have been generated for dwelling fractions in urban and rural areas (pie charts on the top and bottom respectively) according to the type of house and the material of the floor.

Mapping scheme

Using the previous information and expert judgement, a mapping scheme to classify the dwellings into a set of building typologies has been developed (see figure). The mapping scheme consists on two tables: the first table allocates a building category according to the material of the exterior walls and the material of the floor, and the second table assigns building fractions to the possible typologies given the type of dwelling and the building category previously defined. The building typologies have been defined in accordance with the GEM Building Taxonomy.

Regarding the census attribute definitions, concrete exterior walls has been assumed to represent confined masonry walls, infill reinforced concrete frames or precast concrete walls (with low construction quality), and the type of house Covacha refers to an informal construction generally characterised by wooden exterior walls.

See more about mapping scheme methodology

Urban Rural
 arg_mapping_urban  arg_mapping_rural

Dwelling fractions

Argentina has a total number of dwellings of 9,712,661 distributed across 24 building typologies (taxonomy categories) (see Table 2.1). Figure 2.5 illustrates the proportion of dwellings in each taxonomy category at a national level and the proportions for Buenos Aires city and Guarani department (Misiones province). At a national level the predominant categories in terms of construction material are Confined and Unconfined Masonry, and Concrete frames (35%, 21% and 22%, respectively), whereas at province and department levels the proportions vary considerably. For example, in Buenos Aires the percentage of dwellings in wood category is only 1% while in Guarani this percentage goes up to 81%.

Dwelling distribution along Argentina is shown in the following maps using different resolution levels. At the province level 1(a), pie charts show the proportion of each building typology in the region. The pie charts are not shown in the other figures for the sake of clarity.

Dwelling distribution
Province level Department/Parish level
Click here to download data

BACK to regional exposure model

  • risk/exposure/argentina.txt
  • Last modified: 2016/05/09 13:04
  • by Catalina Yepes