Dwelling fractions for Ecuador

Ecuador is divided into 25 provinces, 224 counties and 1024 parishes, and the capital city is San Francisco de Quito (also the capital of Pichincha province). An exposure model has been developed in terms of the number of buildings as well as economic value (replacement cost of the structures, excluding contents and non-structural components) at department, province and district level.

Information about building characteristics was based on data from census 2010, INEC (Instituto Nacional de Estadística y Censos, Ecuador).

Reference information for common materials and building types in the country

In order to improve the understanding of the typical and common building types in the region, the results coming from PAGER and UN-HABITAT and the ones coming from the GEM Workshop in Medellin are summarized in the following figures. Regarding the housing reports from WHE, no information is available for this country.

A summary of information provided in the census 2010 at national level is presented in the following pie charts. These results show dwelling fractions according to the predominant exterior wall material (“material de paredes exteriores”), floor material (“material del piso”), dwelling type (“tipo de vivienda”) and type of area (“tipo de area”); and also pie charts have been generated for dwelling fractions in urban and rural areas (pie charts on the top and bottom respectively) according to the type of house and the material of the floor.

Mapping scheme

Using the previous information and expert judgement, a mapping scheme to classify the dwellings into a set of building typologies has been developed (see figure). The mapping scheme consists on two tables: the first table allocates a building category according to the material of the exterior walls and the material of the floor, and the second table assigns building fractions to the possible typologies given the type of dwelling and the building category previously defined. The building typologies have been defined in accordance with the GEM Building Taxonomy.

Regarding the census attribute definitions, concrete exterior walls has been assumed to represent confined masonry walls, infill reinforced concrete frames or precast concrete walls (with low construction quality), and the type of house Covacha refers to an informal construction generally characterised by wooden exterior walls.

See more about mapping scheme methodology

Urban Rural
 ecu_mapping_urban  ecu_mapping_rural

Dwelling fractions

Ecuador has a total number of dwellings of 3,748,919 distributed across 29 building typologies (taxonomy categories). The pie charts illustrate the proportion of dwellings in each taxonomy category at a national level and the proportions for the province of Orellana and the Guayaquil city (Province of Guayas). At a national level the predominant categories in terms of predominant construction material are Confined, Unreinforced Masonry and reinforced concrete frames (27%, 26%, and 19% respectively), whereas at department, province and district levels the proportions vary considerably. For example, in Orellana the percentage of dwellings in the Wood category is 61% while in Guayaquil this percentage is less than 12%.

Dwelling distribution along Ecuador is shown in the following maps using different resolution levels. At the province level 1(a), pie charts show the proportion of each taxonomy category in the region. The pie charts are not shown in the other figures for the sake of clarity.

Dwelling distribution
Province level Canton level Parish level
Click here to download data

BACK to regional exposure model

  • risk/exposure/ecuador.txt
  • Last modified: 2016/05/09 13:15
  • by Catalina Yepes